Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > The Sand Pit
Reload this Page >

Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Old Apr 15th 2009, 7:46 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 7
MrsBB is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Hello! This may seem like a really silly question but.....! Im buying my husband a Nintendo Wii for his birthday this month and we are hoping to move to The UAE, Dubai/Abu Dhabi in August. Can we take it with us/will it work?! Becky.
MrsBB is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 2:26 am
  #2  
Concierge
 
Blue Cat's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 29,625
Blue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Originally Posted by MrsBB View Post
Hello! This may seem like a really silly question but.....! Im buying my husband a Nintendo Wii for his birthday this month and we are hoping to move to The UAE, Dubai/Abu Dhabi in August. Can we take it with us/will it work?! Becky.
yes it will
Blue Cat is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 2:43 am
  #3  
Hammer for Life
 
BangleMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Too far away from Upton Park, for my liking !
Posts: 5,524
BangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Originally Posted by Blue Cat View Post
yes it will
thank you for that detailed answer........Blue Cat, News at Ten, Dubai
BangleMan is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 2:44 am
  #4  
Hammer for Life
 
BangleMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Too far away from Upton Park, for my liking !
Posts: 5,524
BangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond reputeBangleMan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Originally Posted by Blue Cat View Post
yes it will
as BC said, it will work as I bought mine in UK and it works here no problem....

to be honest, I would have thought the question more relevant about it working in Sheffield.....do you have electricity uuuup there yet ?
BangleMan is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 3:19 am
  #5  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Kim67's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Brisvegas
Posts: 5,400
Kim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond reputeKim67 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

It will work, but when you buy more games, you have to check whether they're PAL (google it, I don't know the difference really) or something because they sell both here. Our Wii games and remotes (bought in Australia) won't work with the neighbours machine bought in the UK.
Kim67 is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 3:45 am
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
StublueKPL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Dubai/Glasgow
Posts: 328
StublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to allStublueKPL is a name known to all
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

If you are really interested...........................PAL and NSTC explained.

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-the-...sc-and-pal.htm

From your resident Sparkie!

Also I think that your UK and Australia should consoles should both be compatible? Unless they were bought in one of those countries but imported?
StublueKPL is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 3:54 am
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 787
deemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nicedeemi786 is just really nice
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Originally Posted by Kim67 View Post
It will work, but when you buy more games, you have to check whether they're PAL (google it, I don't know the difference really) or something because they sell both here. Our Wii games and remotes (bought in Australia) won't work with the neighbours machine bought in the UK.
Regarding the imported games etc not playing on your wii, they will but you need it either get some software called FREELOADER for the wii or get your WII chipped.

if you want some friendly advice, if you're buying it back home then get it chipped before you come here , games are extortionate over here in UAE.

Its really easy to do..... and you can then just download the games you want.

I currently do that for my kids DS, he has about 200 games on a card he slips into his DS and his friends think he is the business (plus its saved me a few hundred pounds)

If anyone wants some help doing either let me know.
deemi786 is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 10:36 am
  #8  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 7
MrsBB is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Originally Posted by BangleMan View Post
as BC said, it will work as I bought mine in UK and it works here no problem....

to be honest, I would have thought the question more relevant about it working in Sheffield.....do you have electricity uuuup there yet ?
How rude! We have running water now and everything!?
MrsBB is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 10:45 am
  #9  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 645
seraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of lightseraphnina is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Originally Posted by MrsBB View Post
How rude! We have running water now and everything!?
excuse BangleMan Mrs BB, he has a groin strain.
seraphnina is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2009, 12:25 pm
  #10  
Concierge
 
Blue Cat's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 29,625
Blue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nintendo Wii in The UAE?

Originally Posted by MrsBB View Post
How rude! We have running water now and everything!?
you're kidding me!! we aint got it in Newcastle yet
Blue Cat is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.