British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Sand Pit (https://britishexpats.com/forum/sand-pit-116/)
-   -   Newbie (https://britishexpats.com/forum/sand-pit-116/newbie-776524/)

dingod Nov 3rd 2012 11:17 am

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie on the site. I havent got any stupid questions just looking for a bit of banter. Love rugby, football and most interesting topics.
Just landed yesterday and checked into a holiday apartment for a month.
Just thought I would check and see if newbies get any responses on here.

kittycat1 Nov 3rd 2012 12:52 pm

Re: Newbie

Welcome to Disneyland dingod- what do you do and where do you come from?
So whats your first impressions?

dingod Nov 3rd 2012 1:00 pm

Cheers Kittycat1

Yeah seems like a cool place. Been here a couple of times before on short visits but thought I would take the plunge and get a job over here.
I am an Operations Manager and have come across from Watford UK. Originally from Aussie but been in the UK for past 6 years.

What about you?

kittycat1 Nov 3rd 2012 1:06 pm

oh erm ok me- i've been here for just over 3 years (wow where have those 3 years gone), from sunny Essex originally, then London (clapham) then here. I'm a designer so basically draw pretty pictures all day. I'm off to Sydney for xmas - where is oz are you from?

dingod Nov 3rd 2012 1:10 pm

Sounds like a cool job. From Perth the sunshine west. Its nice over there, have you been before or first time?
I used to work in Wimbledon for a couple of years.
Have you enjoyed your 3 years. Any dos or don'ts?

Blue Cat Nov 3rd 2012 1:15 pm

welcome :thumbsup:

dingod Nov 3rd 2012 1:17 pm

Cheers Bluecat

How long you been in Dubai for?

kittycat1 Nov 3rd 2012 1:18 pm

First time, but i am visiting a friend whose been there for 5 years and we have a camper van booked to go on tour :-) I'm very excited although terrified about the spiders! eek!