Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > The Sand Pit
Reload this Page >

Do you have computer problems?

Do you have computer problems?

Old Jun 2nd 2011, 12:01 pm
  #76  
WWLLCJD?
 
Scamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 23,201
Scamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by Hello.Kitty View Post
we've got Ashampoo already - Mr Kitty isn't quite as clueless as I may seem - but the Windows defrag keeps on having a bit of a fit, and refuses to do anything past the initial scan, so I might download the defraggler programme you mentioned.

Or... Paca, I might get you in for a bit of a challenge!
Buy a new one.

Tell the man of the house to not look at so much filth.

Your computer will be fine.
Scamp is offline  
Old Jun 2nd 2011, 12:41 pm
  #77  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 193
paca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nice
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by Hello.Kitty View Post
Or... Paca, I might get you in for a bit of a challenge!
get the cakes ready
paca is offline  
Old Jun 2nd 2011, 2:57 pm
  #78  
ex-expat
 
Hello.Kitty's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: in front of my computer - in sunny Sussex!
Posts: 2,162
Hello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond reputeHello.Kitty has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by paca View Post
get the cakes ready
lol - you're on!
Hello.Kitty is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 9:38 am
  #79  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,028
lionheart is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Having very recently installed Witopia VPN, our home computer has suddenly decided to cease working. Its a newish machine so unlikely to be gridlocked by spam type rubbish. So where do you live/work?
lionheart is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 9:42 am
  #80  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 193
paca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nice
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by lionheart View Post
Having very recently installed Witopia VPN, our home computer has suddenly decided to cease working. Its a newish machine so unlikely to be gridlocked by spam type rubbish. So where do you live/work?
not working and in the marina

have you un-installed the vpn software yet?
paca is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 10:28 am
  #81  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,028
lionheart is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by paca View Post
not working and in the marina
have you un-installed the vpn software yet?
We followed the installation procedure and it worked fine for a couple of days. We cannot un-instal the vpn because we can no longer get into the computer. Incidentally, we have just disconnected our newish computer and reconnected an old one, which is now working but very slow. Not sure if Etisalat could have done something to block the vpn software coz I believe it may be illegal here.

Last edited by lionheart; Jun 5th 2011 at 10:31 am.
lionheart is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 10:34 am
  #82  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 193
paca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nicepaca is just really nice
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

When I went to the webpage for the VPN software it is blocked.... what happens is they block it as they find them, if the software is still trying to use it then it will cause the problem.

even my private VPN is flakey but its free for me so cant complain.

You provider may throttle(slow down) your connection, BT used to do it in the UK on some lines but I don't know the policys here yet.

First thing to try is switch off the router for 10 seconds and then restart it and your old one.

for new machine.... not sure why it won't start, maybe try and start without network cable connected
paca is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 10:56 am
  #83  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 15,051
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

have you plugged it in?
Millhouse is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 11:25 am
  #84  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,028
lionheart is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by Millhouse View Post
have you plugged it in?
Dick.
lionheart is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 11:35 am
  #85  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 15,051
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by lionheart View Post
Dick.
I take that as a No.
Millhouse is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 12:14 pm
  #86  
Hit 16's
 
Bahtatboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine
Posts: 13,112
Bahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by Millhouse View Post
have you plugged it in?
What, with the price of electricity here? Are you INSANE?!
Bahtatboy is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 12:40 pm
  #87  
Bored liberal
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Over there ----->
Posts: 13,704
Meow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

I believe the correct acronym is PICNIC

Meow is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 12:59 pm
  #88  
Loading...
 
Welivehere's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Back in the sand
Posts: 1,279
Welivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by Meow View Post
I believe the correct acronym is PICNIC

I quite like PEBKAC and ID-Ten-T Error as well...
Welivehere is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2011, 1:08 pm
  #89  
Bored liberal
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Over there ----->
Posts: 13,704
Meow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by Welivehere View Post
I quite like PEBKAC and ID-Ten-T Error as well...
Meow is offline  
Old Jun 6th 2011, 6:42 pm
  #90  
 
rowell's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,271
rowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond reputerowell has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do you have computer problems?

Originally Posted by lionheart View Post
We followed the installation procedure and it worked fine for a couple of days. We cannot un-instal the vpn because we can no longer get into the computer. Incidentally, we have just disconnected our newish computer and reconnected an old one, which is now working but very slow. Not sure if Etisalat could have done something to block the vpn software coz I believe it may be illegal here.
Have been with Witopia for nearly 4 years and had no issues, if I can find my link I will send it as they have a web address specifically for UAE users as they realise the restrictions
rowell is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.