Bandwidth

Old Mar 13th 2013, 9:01 am
  #1  
Hit 16's
Thread Starter
 
Bahtatboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine
Posts: 13,112
Bahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Bandwidth

Totally frustrated with BBC iPlayer--got 10 minutes into three different programmes last night, only for each one to give up the ghost and display "You have insufficient bandwidth to watch this programme". Not the first time.

I have 8mb Du internet. I reset (well, switched off and back on) my internet gear, iPad and computer. Same result.

Later on in the evening/night 4OD was working ok, so I guess a further factor could be timing (ie number of people on the 'net here).

Any ideas?
Bahtatboy is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 9:09 am
  #2  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 14,630
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

Originally Posted by Bahtatboy View Post
Totally frustrated with BBC iPlayer--got 10 minutes into three different programmes last night, only for each one to give up the ghost and display "You have insufficient bandwidth to watch this programme". Not the first time.

I have 8mb Du internet. I reset (well, switched off and back on) my internet gear, iPad and computer. Same result.

Later on in the evening/night 4OD was working ok, so I guess a further factor could be timing (ie number of people on the 'net here).

Any ideas?
Change your VPN ... or better still don't use one
Millhouse is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 9:12 am
  #3  
Hit 16's
Thread Starter
 
Bahtatboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine
Posts: 13,112
Bahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

Originally Posted by Millhouse View Post
Change your VPN ... or better still don't use one
Ah, hadn't thought about the VPN. Mind you, internet seems really slow anyway (on my computer), but that could be to do with the virus software issue.

How do I watch BBC iPlayer without a VPN?
Bahtatboy is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 9:27 am
  #4  
BE Enthusiast
 
Millsyisland's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 897
Millsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

I too have been experiencing buffering issues recently (including frustratingly during the Six Nations), but have particular issues with the iPlayer which I find buffers more than the ITV player and 4OD.

The non-VPN approach being suggested by Millhouse relates to the DNS settings, but I have tried this with two possible providers of alternative settings but neither have worked. Whilst I am not sure, I think the fact that Etisalat use a proxy server affects this (now starting to suggest things outside of my comfort zone) although I understand from Millhouse that it works for him, so am none-the-wiser really.

If you can get this to work in the UAE please tell me how as I'd love to itilize the full power of my 16mb connection without it being throttled to 1-2mb with the VPN on!
Millsyisland is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 9:54 am
  #5  
WWLLCJD?
 
Scamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 21,629
Scamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond reputeScamp has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

I get that sometimes and my internet claims (via checkers online) to be 21mb.

When it says insufficient bandhelmet, I just refresh the page and carry on until it goes again.

ALternative is to plan ahead and download the programmes from iPlayer.
Scamp is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 9:56 am
  #6  
BE Forum Addict
 
Patsy Stoned's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 4,403
Patsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

My download speeds have been really slow recently..other people have had the same issue. Maybe another cable broken
Patsy Stoned is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 10:27 am
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,285
jam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond reputejam25mack has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

Yup, my apparent 16mb is pish at the minute, nowhere near the lightening speed it used to be!
jam25mack is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 10:35 am
  #8  
Shark Fisherman
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,567
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

I get a massive 3mb in Doha but everything streams perfectly. I do not know how though? Though 1 in 5 programmes will give my the insufficient bandwidth message and i just load it again and it plays.
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 10:50 pm
  #9  
Hit 16's
Thread Starter
 
Bahtatboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine
Posts: 13,112
Bahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bandwidth

If I try loading again in iPlayer i just end up exactly where I was
Bahtatboy is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.