British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Sand Pit (https://britishexpats.com/forum/sand-pit-116/)
-   -   Anyone been to Emirates Park Zoo? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/sand-pit-116/anyone-been-emirates-park-zoo-794742/)

TheShed Apr 22nd 2013 6:00 am

Anyone been to Emirates Park Zoo?

I once had the misfortune to visit Dubai Zoo and as an animal lover it was a horrible experience. Has anyone been to EPZ? Are the animals treated reasonably well with decent enclosures?

I am a very keen photographer and need a fix of wildlife picture taking but cant afford the time to go to Africa until later in the year.

Any advice much appreciated.

Mogs Apr 22nd 2013 6:01 am

Re: Anyone been to Emirates Park Zoo?

Al Ain zoo is a lot better, Emirates Park Zoo is better than Dubai zoo but not a patch on Al Ain.

scrubbedexpat141 Apr 22nd 2013 6:06 am

Originally Posted by TheShed (Post 10671597)
I once had the misfortune to visit Dubai Zoo and as an animal lover it was a horrible experience. Has anyone been to EPZ? Are the animals treated reasonably well with decent enclosures?

I am a very keen photographer and need a fix of wildlife picture taking but cant afford the time to go to Africa until later in the year.

Any advice much appreciated.

THis isn't a useful reply by the way.

Dubai Zoo - Agree, utterly soul destroying.
Emirates Park - Never been or heard of, but might go.
Al Ain Zoo - Went the weekend just gone, great Zoo, got there early and no crowds for a few hours. Some great animals to see. Bit annoying that all the glass you look through for things like the Gorilla (for example) is massively reflective when trying to take snaps. Still, got some blinders.
Sharjah Wildlife Park - Alright, but not mega. There's a weird indoor birds leisure centre type thing to walk through which is just odd.