The wrong station!

Old Dec 29th 2013, 10:04 am
  #1  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Now Devon
Posts: 947
aries has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond repute
Default The wrong station!

Yesterday I travelled back by train after spending Christmas in Leamington Spa, but for the first time in my life, I got off at the wrong station.

I was supposed to change at Birmingham New Street, however having an interesting chat with a young man in the seat next to me, when I heard the word Birmingham over the speaker system, I grabbed my luggage and left the train.
However after much aggravation and stress unable to see my connection on the electronic board, I asked railway personnel, and was told I was at Birmingham International, about 14 km from where I needed to be!!

I was then given the wrong platform number for a train to New Street, and missed a train which could have enabled me to catch my connection to Devon, which of course I subsequently missed.

All of this added more than an hour to my journey, and I travelled on 3 trains and a special bus because of work at a railway bridge in Devon.

So . . . listen to the train speaker system more carefully!!
aries is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 1:06 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,224
cheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond reputecheers has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The wrong station!

Originally Posted by aries View Post
Yesterday I travelled back by train after spending Christmas in Leamington Spa, but for the first time in my life, I got off at the wrong station.

I was supposed to change at Birmingham New Street, however having an interesting chat with a young man in the seat next to me, when I heard the word Birmingham over the speaker system, I grabbed my luggage and left the train.
However after much aggravation and stress unable to see my connection on the electronic board, I asked railway personnel, and was told I was at Birmingham International, about 14 km from where I needed to be!!

I was then given the wrong platform number for a train to New Street, and missed a train which could have enabled me to catch my connection to Devon, which of course I subsequently missed.

All of this added more than an hour to my journey, and I travelled on 3 trains and a special bus because of work at a railway bridge in Devon.

So . . . listen to the train speaker system more carefully!!
Wow what an adventure!
cheers is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 2:51 am
  #3  
Oscar nominated
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 41,509
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The wrong station!

I was with a group visiting Moscow and we were venturing out on our own in the evening, going to Red Square by metro.

We were advised to do something like four stops, change trains and then go three. This meant that coming back we had to go three, change trains and then go four.

As a safeguard we copied the lettering on the sign we thought was the name of the station where we changed.

Turned out to be an Exit sign.

It was just as well we counted.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 5:58 am
  #4  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: bute
Posts: 9,740
scot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The wrong station!

When I go out I prefer to travel with an adult. Much safer.
scot47 is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 7:01 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Now Devon
Posts: 947
aries has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond reputearies has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The wrong station!

Originally Posted by scot47 View Post
When I go out I prefer to travel with an adult. Much safer.
. . . or with a savvy 10 year old using a smart phone with a sat nav
aries is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 1:07 pm
  #6  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: bute
Posts: 9,740
scot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The wrong station!

Excellent idea ! I will try that next time !
scot47 is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 1:13 pm
  #7  
The Kwisatz Haderach
 
Mummy in the foothills's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 8,067
Mummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The wrong station!

LOL I'll loan you my kid with a sat nav.
Glad to hear you did eventually get home.
I remember dozing off on the train through France on the way to Spain, I nearly got off in Toulouse by mistake, another tip. Don't fall asleep and them wake with a start and try to get off at the wrong stop.
Mummy in the foothills is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.