Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK > The Rovers Return
Reload this Page >

Buying property back in UK as Australian tax resident

Buying property back in UK as Australian tax resident

Old Aug 24th 2022, 3:23 am
Just Joined

Claire Crossley is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Buying property back in UK as Australian tax resident

G'day all! I'm a Brit who's lived in Australia for 16 years and am planning to move to Scotland in 2023. I'm almost 66 years old and officially retired.

My question is, will I be allowed to purchase a house in Scotland while I'm still an Australian resident for tax purposes?

If not, what is the procedure for changing tax residency status?

Thanks so much in advance.
Old Aug 24th 2022, 4:47 am
Concierge

spouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying property back in UK as Australian tax resident

Hi Claire, welcome to BE.

We (husband and I) purchased a house while still living in Australia, but we bought in England so not overly relevant to buying in Scotland. I can give you a few general pointers but it might be worth your while to consult a tax professional who can advise on your particular situation.