Reload this Page >

Moving to Ireland - Advice!

Moving to Ireland - Advice!

Old Aug 17th 2015, 9:38 am
Just Joined

Vickylou88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Ireland - Advice!

Hi Everyone,

I have just sold my house in England and am now looking to move to Tipperary to be with family.

I am after lots of advice!

From what I have researched the process of buying property in Ireland is similar to the UK - am I right?

What are your most valuable bits of advice?

I work in IT currently and have a background of admin/ customer service work - am I likely to find work be it permanent or temporary?

I know the move will not be easy but with the help and support from family I'm sure things will work out.

Any help or advice will be greatly received.

Thanks,
Vicky
Old Aug 17th 2015, 12:34 pm
Forum Regular

London Irish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Moving to Ireland - Advice!

The main difference in house buying, is that in Ireland one must first place a deposit with an auctioneer (estate agent); typically 10%, in order to place an offer on a house. In the UK one can place an offer, with a deposit. This is to cull out the time wasters and messers here that put in offers on property and don't follow through.
Tipperary house prices are favourable. The downside is that there is no work there. My source for this is a Tipperary man I lived with, 27 years old, IT degree; and ended up loving to Dublin for work after 2 years on the dole in Tipperary. Jobbridge schemes have killed off any paid IT/customer service/admin jobs here.
Realistically you will be looking at working in Dublin, or dole in Tipperary.
My advice is to rent in an area you fancy before buying, then you can be sure its for you long term, before a job comes up and you end up moving for work.
Old Aug 17th 2015, 12:43 pm
Just Joined

Vickylou88 is an unknown quantity at this point