Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Portugal
Reload this Page >

Someone to fish cable through conduit

Someone to fish cable through conduit

Old Oct 1st 2023, 5:28 pm
  #1  
fergus is offline  
Old Oct 1st 2023, 8:35 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2015
Location: Porches, Algarve
Posts: 178
zoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nice
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

A have a good cable puller but I still always use Vaseline. Give it a try.
zoff is offline  
Old Oct 1st 2023, 10:22 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
liveaboard's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,032
liveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond reputeliveaboard has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

I don't know a person to help you, but I've pulled a LOT of wires through conduits.

If you can't pull just one, then you need to pull the existing 3 cables out, then pull all 4 back through together, even if that means cutting the coax and then splicing them together again.
I know it sounds like a lot of extra work but actually you'll be done a a couple of hours.

Alternatively, rout the wire another way; but in my opinion, trying to get a snake through a conduit with 3 coax cables in it is not going to go your way.
liveaboard is offline  
Old Oct 2nd 2023, 9:03 am
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2015
Location: Porches, Algarve
Posts: 178
zoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nice
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

Get a GUIA PASSA-CABOS like this one and run it through the conduit with the long springy part first. With this type of "Guia" the ends are are screwed on, when you get the guide to the end of the conduit unscrew the long piece and replace it with the piece with loop. Securely attach your ethernet cable to the loop and tape it with electrical tape and then lubricate at least the section that is attached to the guide with Vaseline (petroleum jelly). When you get stuck, back up a bit into the conduit and jerk the guide back and forth until the stuck part releases. This type guide is a bit more expensive bet well worth it.
I hope this makes sense to you.


zoff is offline  
Old Oct 2nd 2023, 9:04 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 657
chislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

Unfortunately I have no experience of house cabling. Presumably though the cable is metal based.

When I change an internally routed cable on my push bike I use a very strong magnet and "pull" it through.

I fully realise this may be totally irrelevant to your situation but you never know.

NB. For people who don't know what I am talking about most high end push bikes now have internally routed cables.

chislenko is offline  
Old Oct 3rd 2023, 5:45 pm
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 370
fergus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

Thank you to everyone that took the time to reply. This simple job has really been a pitta. Not more than 6m run, upstairs to downstairs. Finally got the fish thing through, connected it to ethernet cable, a bit too 'yahoo I've done it' enthusiasm and fish rod and ethernet cable parted somewhere in the middle. So, started again and having time, instead of the initial 3 days to get the fish cable puller through it only took two days, the scond time. So, now, once again I have the fish cable rodder thing connected top to bottom.

I appreciated all the comments. I forgot I had vaseline (a big tub) but I was using fairy liquid anyway. I had to push to the bottlenecks, let it relax for 10 minutes, 20 minutes, an hour sometimes and then start again. There are 4 bottlenecks where (I am presuming as I can't see inside the conduit) that the cables are constricted in a tight grouping. So much so that, as suggestedby someone it is not possible to actually pull the existing coax cables through.

I remain hopeful that I will eventually be able to pull an ethernet cable through doing what should have been a 20 minute, simple job, soonish.
fergus is offline  
Old Oct 3rd 2023, 5:52 pm
  #8  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 52,446
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Thumbs up Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

Are all three existing coax cables even needed/ still in use? If any of them are split, then both branches fed through the conduit, you should be able to remove one of the branches from the splitter, then add the split after the conduit.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Oct 3rd 2023, 7:05 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2015
Location: Porches, Algarve
Posts: 178
zoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nicezoff is just really nice
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

Also, if you aren't using the ethernet cable to power a device (POE) why not use wifi instead?
zoff is offline  
Old Oct 4th 2023, 6:01 am
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Nov 2021
Posts: 98
1Steve is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

I had the same problem where I could not get an ethernet cable to run through conduit containing 2 coax so I stripped the insulation and screen off the ethernet cable and ran just the wires and that did the trick. As it is just coax that it is running along with then it shouldn't cause any interference problems. Had absolutely zero problems with mine.
1Steve is offline  
Old Oct 4th 2023, 8:32 am
  #11  
BE Enthusiast
 
Midgo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Península de Setúbal
Posts: 407
Midgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

silicon spray is good too spray loads of it in the top - less messy than vasaline
I just pulled through 30 m of ethernet cable
I presume you cut the plugs off the end of the ethernet cable if there were any?
I used Duct Tape to join the mouse line and cable end to end - one bit wrapped round at 90 to cable then a longer bit wrapped round parallel to cable
make sure someone is pushing at the entry end and another pulling at the other end - use synchronised movements you can communicate via phone video
and deep breaths
what do you need coax for, I thought that was obsolete?
I actually get faster via wifi - router ports only 100Mbs, and I get way more via 5G or even the other normal one


Last edited by Midgo; Oct 4th 2023 at 8:34 am.
Midgo is offline  
Old Oct 6th 2023, 12:21 pm
  #12  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 418
appman999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

If wifi isn't suitable try Powerline adapters? (assuming upstairs and downstairs are on the same phase)
appman999 is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2023, 8:51 am
  #13  
BE Enthusiast
 
Midgo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Península de Setúbal
Posts: 407
Midgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond reputeMidgo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

Originally Posted by appman999
If wifi isn't suitable try Powerline adapters? (assuming upstairs and downstairs are on the same phase)
I use these too.
Very good
Midgo is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2023, 12:15 pm
  #14  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 370
fergus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

I have used powerline adapters and found them to be unreliable, which is why I wanted a cabled solution.
fergus is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2023, 12:27 pm
  #15  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 418
appman999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Someone to fish cable through conduit

Their performance is affected by the state of the house wiring and the switchpanel.

It's unlikely that the two floors are on one circuit but there is probably one radial circuit per floor.

If you can put the adapters on the socket at the start of each circuit it may help?
appman999 is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.