British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Portugal (https://britishexpats.com/forum/portugal-89/)
-   -   Savings (https://britishexpats.com/forum/portugal-89/savings-590082/)

Cleri Feb 8th 2009 1:28 am

Savings

As we all know,the interest rates on savings in Uk are dire....mine has now dropped to 1% :eek:

EVERY option I look into demands that I am a UK resident,which I'm not...obviously.Even totally internet based accounts demand this.
Anyone got any ideas?

TaviraTrog Feb 8th 2009 1:56 am

Re: Savings

Originally Posted by Cleri (Post 7263008)
As we all know,the interest rates on savings in Uk are dire....mine has now dropped to 1% :eek:

EVERY option I look into demands that I am a UK resident,which I'm not...obviously.Even totally internet based accounts demand this.
Anyone got any ideas?

I don't want to be teaching my granny to suck eggs but...

have you tried the Portuguese banks or other financial institutions?

I have no idea if there are such things as ISAs or whatever the latest version is called.

A friend has suggested to me that I buy as many Savings Bonds as I can. The reasoning is that, although you don't get interest, if you have the maximum amount you can count on regular wins with Ernie.

Cleri Feb 8th 2009 2:01 am

Originally Posted by TaviraTrog (Post 7263086)
I don't want to be teaching my granny to suck eggs but...

have you tried the Portuguese banks or other financial institutions?

I have no idea if there are such things as ISAs or whatever the latest version is called.

A friend has suggested to me that I buy as many Savings Bonds as I can. The reasoning is that, although you don't get interest, if you have the maximum amount you can count on regular wins with Ernie.

I must admit,I've only tried my bank,and the rates were so dire,it put me off looking at others.

Do you mean Premium Bonds?...do you think that's a good option?

Hettyb Feb 8th 2009 2:15 am

Originally Posted by Cleri (Post 7263103)