Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Portugal
Reload this Page >

Buying land in the Algarve (Loulé)

Buying land in the Algarve (Loulé)

Old Nov 30th 2013, 5:25 pm
Just Joined

AdeV is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Buying land in the Algarve (Loulé)

Hi, newbie here, I've read some of the posts here but haven't found a post which exactly answers the questions I have, so apologies in advance if it's because I've missed them...

I've found, and want to buy, a reasonable sized packet of land, in amongst the hills north of Albufeira. It's (apparently) split into 2 plots; an urban and a rustica plot. There's enough urban for a decent sized house (over 700sq.m if the document is to be believed). The rustica area is quite a bit larger, I have no plans or desire to build on it, but would like the odd fruit/olive tree...

So, I guess the question is, how do I make sure I'm not buying something worthless (i.e. no urban)? I have a photocopied piece of paper from the agent with what looks like a valid CÂMARA MUNICIPAL DE LOULÉ statement showing the maximum sq.m development + maximum footprint (Coeficiente de ocupação do solo).

Apparently outline planning permission was granted for a large villa in the past, but has now expired. I'd be more interested in building a traditional-style house to fit in with the rest of the village. There's electricity poles & telephone poles on the property already. I am told there is a sewer, and a borehole for water; I guess I could drill my own borehole if necessary?