Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

WAPol 2014 PPE physical preparation.

WAPol 2014 PPE physical preparation.

Old Apr 20th 2014, 7:24 pm
Almost there...

Pincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud ofPincher has much to be proud of
Default WAPol 2014 PPE physical preparation.

Well, sadly I have nothing better to do now I've eaten all my Easter eggs! I know some of you are already looking at this aspect, so here's my pennies worth.
Once past you'll get details of the PPE along with a form which you have to take to your doctor so he can, somewhat bemusedly, sign you as fit to do the PPE.

The link to the demo videos on StepForward:

http://www.stepforward.wa.gov.au/how...ysical-videos/

1. Situp. I scoffed at this, until I tried to do it. It's harder than it appears. Practise with your feet flat on the ground, though in the test only your heels need to remain in contact with the ground.

2. Shuttle/Bleep test. Make sure you definitely know your level. Some have goofed this bit by stopping too early.
Here's a link with a table to show you how to replicate it on a running machine in the gym. It was a great help to me during the bad winter weather, though try to do it in conditions similar to the test.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shuttle_run

It's not based on best effort just to your age level, but everyone does a little extra. But don't go mad!

3. Crowd control simulator. WAPol can't bring this over so they substitute it with deadlift and upright row. I think it's 40kg and 20 kg respectively, 10 reps.

4. Firearm pre-selection. They will use a grip test instead. It's '30' each hand for males. Not sure if it's the same for females.