Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Royal Cayman Islands Police Vacancies

Royal Cayman Islands Police Vacancies

Old Dec 5th 2011, 3:57 am
Just Joined

youre-nicked is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Royal Cayman Islands Police Vacancies

Hi,
Ive just found this site whilst internet browsing on a very Q night shift.

I applied for a Sgt's post and had a phone interview just over a month ago, they told me that I would hear by Thu 17th Nov. As others said that came and passed, last week having decided that I hadnt got it I deleted all the various internet sites I found and moved on.

1st December I checked my e mail and found that they had offered me a post in the OSU, I have until the 8th to give them an answer. I think that I was possibly number 3 in the job offer list and the others above me have turned down the job, this would explain the 2 weeks later in them getting in touch with me and giving me a week to decide, or is it the fact that they are slow and busy?

I now have to decide on what to do, there is the negative aspects that I have been reading to consider and the fact that as many others I cant have a career break. It's a resign and go for it decision, with 20 years in my pension pot its a hard one. Ive been told that If I go I wouldnt get my pension till I was 65, if I dont go I retire in 10 years time and would get it at 55.

Ive also found dealing with the immigration side very frustrating, I emailed them a while ago and it took them 2 weeks to reply in a way that didnt answer the questions Id asked, as I have a wife and 3 kids I was told that I would only earn enough to bring 3 dependants with me, as such her who must be obeyed would have to get a job to earn enough so that we could all be together, then I read that it would be hard for her to get a job as the locals get first dibs, is that true?