Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

(Police) Question related to the UK courts

(Police) Question related to the UK courts

Old Nov 16th 2014, 1:43 am
BE Forum Addict

cappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond reputecappuccino has a reputation beyond repute
Default (Police) Question related to the UK courts

I know this is an emigration forum but wonder if any of you lovely police people could answer my question.

I was a victim of an incident in the UK whilst visiting there in July. I'm now in Australia. The police have told me I have to go to court to give evidence in January. 1 police person told me that the CPS will pay for me to go back, another police person said I could evidence by Skype, and a 3rd police person told me that I have to give evidence in person and should not have left the UK till after the court trial.

Can anybody offer me any advice?
Old Nov 17th 2014, 1:15 pm
Forum Regular

notbrazil is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: (Police) Question related to the UK courts

Depending on the seriousness of the offence, they might pay for you to go back. If they don't, you're very much 'out of the jurisdiction of the court' so there's really nothing they can do to compel you to attend.
Old Nov 18th 2014, 4:09 am
Just Joined

art924 is an unknown quantity at this point

I think you need to clarify with whoever you spoke with is the trial date fixed i.e is it certain to go ahead on that date?

You then have to find out if the CPS are paying for your flights and accommodation to come back over and give evidence.