Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Police officer transfer from uk to Canada

Police officer transfer from uk to Canada

Old Jul 4th 2012, 6:34 am
Just Joined

Gavin1510 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Police officer transfer from uk to Canada

Hi guys, my husband got Canadian citizenship but living in uk and works with Kent police. Is there any chance that he can get transfer over Canada or if we move there he will get a job of same level? Is he supposed to do some training or some tests? What r the career prospects of police officer in Canada? What about salary? If can transfer, then how long will take ? MANY THANKS
Old Jul 4th 2012, 6:21 pm
Forum Regular

stewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant future
Default Re: Police officer transfer from uk to Canada

You can't transfer as such. You just resign from whatever force you're in in the UK and then try and join a Canadian force. If you're already a Canadian citizen you could do it tomorrow.
Old Jul 5th 2012, 8:13 pm
Just Joined

Has he had to do some training there before joining...
Old Jul 5th 2012, 9:08 pm
Forum Regular

stewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant futurestewie_griffin has a brilliant future

Yes. All the training a normal Canadian recruit would do, starting from the very bottom*. On the upside, after 5 years in a Western Canadian force, you could be making about what a Superintendent makes in the UK.

*As far as I know.
Old Jul 5th 2012, 10:02 pm
Just Joined

Thanks