Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Calgary Police Application

Calgary Police Application

Old Oct 30th 2008, 6:34 pm
Just Joined

DannyG is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Calgary Police Application

Hello everyone

We (my family) are giving some serious thought to applying to CPS. I'm fairly comfortable with the research needed before such a life changing move. Can anyone advise on this specific one:
I have read that they recognise experience to equate to their class 1 constable. Do they recognise rank or does it have any bearing one in? (I am a serving Inspector - slightly disillusioned with UK like the est of you)

Any thoughts appreciated,
Old Oct 31st 2008, 12:19 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

ann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Calgary Police Application

With over 5 years of UK service, this experience is recognised and you are put at 1st class constable pay scale from day one. You start at 12 days annual leave (but do not get leave for the first year).

After that, I would have to say that no - the rest of your experience or rank is not hugely taken into account - and you will start from scratch again, and will need to build up your Calgary experience and reputation again. You will not be offered the opportunity to go for rank again any faster than anyone else. However, once you do get going, you may wish to push your career hard.