Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Becoming a police officer in the US from UK (for a dual citizen)

Becoming a police officer in the US from UK (for a dual citizen)

Old Aug 5th 2014, 12:09 am
Just Joined

scottb567 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Becoming a police officer in the US from UK (for a dual citizen)

Hi all, I'm new to the forums so bear with me. I'm a 21 year old dual UK/US citizen who have lived in the UK my entire life that is interested in becoming a police officer in the US (undecided as to which state specifically though California/Washington/New York/Florida seem like desirable places to work for different reasons). My education thus far has been GCSE's (10) and A-Levels (3) and I have a background in security/door supervision. I was wondering what the process is for becoming a PO in the US and any qualifications/requirements etc (I assume residency will not be a problem due to my citizenship) . Any and all insight, advice or experience is welcome, many thanks in advance
Old Aug 6th 2014, 11:36 am
Forum Regular

notbrazil is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Becoming a police officer in the US from UK (for a dual citizen)

You're a US citizen (lucky bugger) so you'll have no problems at all. With most law enforcement agencies, just contact them directly and ask about their training requirements. Most use a centralised Police academy that you'll need to pay for yourself. For example, if you wished to apply for a police department in San Francisco (SFPD, Bart Police, Martin Co. Sherrif etc) you could apply for enrolment at the Napa Police Academy. Once you've graduated from the academy, you can apply to join a Police department.

I believe some of the larger departments (NYPD, LAPD, LA County Sherrif) have their own academies.