Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Advice for a UK Cop to becomming a US Cop

Advice for a UK Cop to becomming a US Cop

Old Feb 21st 2011, 1:02 am
Forum Regular

jamieamis is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice for a UK Cop to becomming a US Cop

Hi to all of you on here,

I have posted on here before in other peoples threads but thought I would try to get my individual question(s) answered.

I am a British Police Officer, based in the UK who has just completed my initial 2 year probationary period. I am currently dating an american girl, who lives in the Cincinnati area of the USA and things are going really well. We make time every 2-3 months to see one another (either she fly's here, I fly there or we meet up on vacation elsewhere) and we talk pretty much everyday on Skype.

Its getting to the point where I am now looking at ways in which to get over to the USA to allow the relationship to develop further. Now there is a good prospect of marriage in the future so I would have a way in more permenantly via that route however, before making a commitment to that I would want to test the water as such, by spending an extended period of time in the US with her, to make sure that things will work on an everyday basis.

I preferably would want to do this by way of a career break which I know I can do with the Police and have seen on this site other officers doing the same, so that if things did not work out I would still have my career to fall back on.

So once I manage to figure out my way into the USA to be with this young lady on a permenant basis, I was wondering if any of the ex-pats have any advice on how they managed to make it (following the 3-5 year gap to allow for citizenship application) and find themselves back in the job they love.

Whether it be through doing a 2 year degree, to working as a Security Guard or finding themselves a civillian post in the Police.