Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Plumbers
Reload this Page >

Plumber gas fitter with 13 years experience from UK

Plumber gas fitter with 13 years experience from UK

Old Apr 1st 2014, 7:47 am
Just Joined

joedamms is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Plumber gas fitter with 13 years experience from UK

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to Australia and the forum. I've been in Brisbane for 4 weeks, i'm on a 457 dependant visa, and looking to get into the plumbing industry here in Aus I was fully qualified in the UK with over 13 years experience in domestic plumbing and heating (i've realised the heating part is going to be irrelevent here in Aus!!). I don't need my skills recognised for my visa. What is the best way to go about this?? Trying to get a job with plumbers then trying to get my certs or the other way round?? Is it worth getting them at all or am I better off retraining altogether? Any help or advice would be gladly received.
Many Thanks
Joe Damms
Old Apr 8th 2014, 10:41 pm
Just Joined

jd24hrs is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Plumber gas fitter with 13 years experience from UK

Originally Posted by joedamms
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to Australia and the forum. I've been in Brisbane for 4 weeks, i'm on a 457 dependant visa, and looking to get into the plumbing industry here in Aus I was fully qualified in the UK with over 13 years experience in domestic plumbing and heating (i've realised the heating part is going to be irrelevent here in Aus!!). I don't need my skills recognised for my visa. What is the best way to go about this?? Trying to get a job with plumbers then trying to get my certs or the other way round?? Is it worth getting them at all or am I better off retraining altogether? Any help or advice would be gladly received.
Many Thanks
Joe Damms
i wish you all the luck and best thing is to talk to plumbers
i hope they are more helpful than in NZ
Old Apr 8th 2014, 11:11 pm
`