British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Philippines (https://britishexpats.com/forum/philippines-155/)
-   -   UK Tax Self Assessment (https://britishexpats.com/forum/philippines-155/uk-tax-self-assessment-933252/)

Raffin Jun 17th 2020 4:48 am

UK Tax Self Assessment

Due to the current travel restrictions my SA forms for tax year 2019-20 are not at all easily available to me. I could get them downloaded, printed then mailed off as usual. Alternatively, although weirdly as a non UK resident abroad you cannot use HMRCs own service, it seems you can use a commercially available online service. HMRC provides a long list of those they accept. Has anyone here in the Philippines as a non UK resident used any of them and, if so, how did it go?

mikek1 Jun 17th 2020 11:49 pm

Re: UK Tax Self Assessment

I am a non resident UK tax Player. When we moved to the Philippines I did not attempt to submit the self assesmemt returns, thinking they were no longer of interest to HMRC. After a couple of years I had to correspond with the UK pensions authority over my very low tax code. This involved notifying them know my Philipppine address. To my suprise after a couple of weeks latter
I received a letter from HMRC informing me of a £1300 fine for not submitting my self assessement returns for 2 years.

I immeadiatly corresponded with our accountants in the UK who had previously handled all our tax affiars. I produced all the neccesary paperwork and emailed it to the accountants, who then worked out the tax and submitted my self assesmemt returns. The fines were squashed and I received a tax rebate ! My tax code was also changed allowing my tax free to enable no future tax will be payable until I receive my pension.