British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Nusajaya - Iskandar - Johor (https://britishexpats.com/forum/nusajaya-iskandar-johor-200/)
-   -   Living in Malaysia whilst working in Singapore (https://britishexpats.com/forum/nusajaya-iskandar-johor-200/living-malaysia-whilst-working-singapore-605861/)

MarkWitherington Apr 27th 2009 6:23 pm

Living in Malaysia whilst working in Singapore

Dear Forum

Can anybody please advise on any benefits to living in Malaysia whilst working in Singapore, my wife is considering taking up a post at Singapore General Hospital as a Pharmacist, whilst i am a Contracts Manager for a Building company in Jersey, Channel islands,UK. We have a 3 year old son, whose education is at the foremost of our decision to move, also any info on the Construction industry would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mark & Family.

Kooky. Apr 27th 2009 9:19 pm

Re: Living in Malaysia whilst working in Singapore

I think you'd only want to live in Malaysia and work in Singapore if you couldn't afford to live in Singapore. I know of people that do it but I'm not sure how the visa thing works. :confused:

The big downside is the queue of traffic at the Causeway every morning and night. Actually SGH is a long way from the Causeway, by Singapofre terms, so you might check out the Second Link at Tuas instead.

I'm sure a couple of people still living in Singapore will come along and advise you, but you might want to look up some Singapore-specific forums as this one is not so busy.

www.expatsingapore.com (I hate it, can get very bitchy, but it has a lot of posters and info in the archives)
www.singaporeexpats.com (mainly young locals talking about double-eyelid surgery and how to be a Singapore Girl, but there are some old-timers on it)
www.singaporum.com (small community, all nationalities but heavy on Brits and Aussies, mostly chatty but will help if they can)

ex reg Apr 28th 2009 1:29 am

Just to add.