Working as a nurse on A WHV Perth - please help

Old Jul 15th 2015, 5:04 pm
Forum Regular

Nurse Becky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Working as a nurse on A WHV Perth - please help

Hi I'm coming over to Perth in November on a working holiday visa and I was hoping to work as a nurse while I am out there. I have a bachelors degree (Hons) and two years post grad experience. I am struggling at the
Moment though with conflicting information and I was wondering if any one else has done this or could shed any light for me?.

I was under the impression I could work as a nurse as long as I applied for the Nursing and midwifery board. However on other threads I'm now told it's not possible to nurse on the WHV or that I will have to carry out 6months supervision before being able to work?.
Also I have found different information on whether or not I should be getting a medical and Chester X-ray before I come over or whilst I am there?.

Any information regarding this process would be greatly appreciated as November is coming around quickly, thank you in advance,
Becky
Old Jul 15th 2015, 6:46 pm
Forum Regular

mgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond reputemgreaves has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Working as a nurse on A WHV Perth - please help

Hi, I've not researched the WHV so can't help you with those questions but I do know it has restrictions on length of time you can work for a single employer.

As far as I am aware like the NMC over here you need to be registered with AHPRA over in Australia to be able to work as a registered nurse.