British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Nurses, Doctors, and other Medical/Healthcare occupations (https://britishexpats.com/forum/nurses-doctors-other-medical-healthcare-occupations-72/)
-   -   Nursing in Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/nurses-doctors-other-medical-healthcare-occupations-72/nursing-canada-926410/)

nadinepeps Jul 13th 2019 8:29 pm

Nursing in Canada

Hello everyone
I am a registered nurse in the UK qualified since 2005 I have experience in medical , surgical, tissue viability and infection control nursing. I really want to immigrate to Canada ...Ontario can you give me some advice on how to make a start? I am 42 years old and sometimes think that I am too old to start the application process.
your advice will be much appreciated.
nadine

Silverdragon102 Jul 13th 2019 11:44 pm

Re: Nursing in Canada

It will be a long process especially with NNAS and CNO. Also expensive. You will require transcripts and they will need to show clinical and theory hours in Paeds, Mental Health, Obstetrics and Adult

christmasoompa Jul 14th 2019 11:36 am

To add to the above, do check to see if you're eligible for a visa - at 42 unfortunately you'll be losing points due to your age, so worth looking in to asap (even if you have to get your visa now and wait for your nursing registration).

Good luck.

Airborne_Dan Jul 17th 2019 2:33 pm

Originally Posted by nadinepeps (Post 12710042)
Hello everyone
I am a registered nurse in the UK qualified since 2005 I have experience in medical , surgical, tissue viability and infection control nursing. I really want to immigrate to Canada ...Ontario can you give me some advice on how to make a start? I am 42 years old and sometimes think that I am too old to start the application process.
your advice will be much appreciated.
nadine