Moving to new york

Old Aug 4th 2019, 8:34 am
Just Joined

Mummybarrett is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to new york

hi I’m hoping someone can help me

I am a qualified midwife in the UK with no nursing degree.
I’m struggling to get my head around which course I need to do in order to qualify to be a cnm and which schools provide this for international students

any help gratefully received
Old Aug 22nd 2019, 12:10 pm
Just Joined

new2nyc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Moving to new york

Hi mummybarrett!

I hope I can be of some help though my advice is probably not what you are hoping to hear.
I married an American and moved to NYC this year. I am a UK RM with 5 years experience.
Unfortunately our BSc Midwifery counts for very little over here. You could either go down the CPM route and work as a home birth midwife or re-qualify to be a CNM/CM.
I prefer working in hospitals so I decided to go down the CNM route. (CMs) Certified midwives are also regulated by the ACNM and take the same exams as a CNM but they are only allowed to practice in 5 east coast states. As I wanted flexibility to work everywhere I decided to do the CNM route. If you want to take the CM route you need a US masters level qualification as are CNM/CMs are masters level.
Obviously with our training it is super focused on maternal health so I didn't even try and get my qualifications recognized by the nursing board as they want to see a range of specialty training. Adult trained RNs in the UK are the closest to the US RN but they are deficit in pads/OB and have to take additional training (or fudge it a bit- from what I've heard).