IELTS help please!

Old Feb 19th 2014, 2:53 pm
Forum Regular

YvetteCamille is an unknown quantity at this point
Default IELTS help please!

Hi Guys,

UK nurse doing IELTS this weekend, need scores of 7 or above for visa points, just wondering if there's anyone out there who has done this and how hard was it? I'm sure having been educated in the UK, RMN diploma etc should mean that I don't find it too difficult?

I have tried to watch videos on youtube for help however, the same guy with same videos coming up and he's do dull I cant bare to watch it again!

Anything that you think is worth knowing for the test would be very much appreciated, thanks in advance for any replies!
Old Feb 19th 2014, 11:38 pm
Just Joined

Talita is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: IELTS help please!

Hey

Im an IELTS teacher, so plenty of experience here.

First thing to note, don't take it for granted youll bag the 7 as a native speaker - the average native speaker score is actually a 6!

Id suggest checking example papers online. People mainly get stuck on the reading...theres A LOT of it to cover within an hour. So find some papers to get a look..

Same goes for the writing..i assume you're doing the academic version. It's in 2 parts: Part 1 you'll have to describe some data presented to you (examiners are looking for comparative and superlative language). Part 2 is an essay - make sure you read the question carefully! Most native speakers make mistakes here...while i have no doubt your grammar is top notch, ensure you cover ALL aspects of the question. Remember to keep it formal, use as many synonyms as possible, organise correctly and the usual intro, body and conclusion

Hope that helps! Send me a message if you need any extra help.

(a friend of mine sat the test assuming it would be easy - got a 5 in everything but speaking/listening!)

Last edited by Talita; Feb 19th 2014 at 11:57 pm. Reason: my own dodgy grammar ;)
Old Feb 20th 2014, 7:17 am
BE Enthusiast