AHPRA - Nursing - my experience

Old Apr 24th 2014, 5:46 pm
Forum Regular

jillyrj is an unknown quantity at this point
Default AHPRA - Nursing - my experience

Hi All - this is the first time i've ever written in a forum. I read them from time to time for info and user experience but havent written before. I've had a recent experience with AHPRA application and wanted to share it with you - hopefully it will help someone?

So I'm a UK registered Adult nurse and british citizen. Made the decision to move down under last year and applied for AHPRA in November 2013.
I researched it and went overboard with my application paperwork, gave everything I could think of, school letters, employment letters, character referenced etc. cost me £25 to go before the court and have my documents certified.

My application was confirmed received 13.12.2013. I used standard mail, didn't track it but got recorded delivery I think. They took the full application charge from my bank 21/12/13.

On Jan 12th I had an e-mail saying I had checked 'enrolled nurse' to apply for when infact as I have a degree in nursing I should have checked 'Registered nurse'. I filled out a new front page and posted this off to Oz again.

I visited QLD in February to see friends and while there on 18th Feb I received another e-mail stating I had ticked 'no' to indemnity instead of yes, and also that I had only written the blurb that my CV was true and correct on the front page of the CV and it needed to be on every page......Ugh!
Luckily I was in QLD so I posted this locally and it was confirmed received on 20th Feb 2014. I was told 4-6 weeks for completion which would have been 3rd April......I'm STILL waiting.

I ring once a week and have sent countless web enquiry forms - none are ever replied to. When I ring and speak to someone my application is in NSW or being reviewed for education standards, or in the final stages. Noone really knows??

I read today that the education standards have now changed: