Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Worried about Living Costs in NZ

Worried about Living Costs in NZ

Old May 15th 2010, 9:09 pm
Forum Regular

Trish M is just really niceTrish M is just really niceTrish M is just really niceTrish M is just really niceTrish M is just really niceTrish M is just really niceTrish M is just really niceTrish M is just really nice
Default Worried about Living Costs in NZ

Hi everyone,

I'm only a newbie here but I've been through all the stuff on the forum. There's so much stuff about the cost of living being higher than the uk, when you equate it to the lower wage in NZ.

I qualify as a nurse in August and hope to move over when I have at least a years work experience.
I'm a single mum, so there will only be one wage coming in. I'm worried that I won't have enough money to live on. I will have to sell my house, a huge obstacle in the present housing market but when/if it does eventually sell there will be enough for a decent deposit that I want to keep in the uk until exchange rates improve.

Can people give an indication of how much my bills will be if I rent a 2 bedroom place? How much is fuel, water, insurance, telephone and broadband? Are there other costs different to the UK?

I will be staying with my brother & his family at first (Zara's Dad) but obviously I can't stay there forever.

I know it might seem a bit early to be planning but I need to be prepared!
Old May 15th 2010, 9:54 pm
Forum Regular

drrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nicedrrobert is just really nice
Default Re: Worried about Living Costs in NZ