Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Working in NZ paid in sterling? Need help!

Working in NZ paid in sterling? Need help!

Old Jan 9th 2007, 8:08 am
Forum Regular

trigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nicetrigod is just really nice
Question Working in NZ paid in sterling? Need help!

Hello all,

I am currently negotiating with my current employer to continue working for them on a freelance basis when I move to NZ. I am a Graphic Designer so working remotely is very easy.

I was just going to have the money paid into my UK account and transfer the cash as and when we need it. Obviously this is great from the point of view of being paid in sterling but I am just wandering if anyone else can offer any experience on the tax side of things? Obviously I wont be working in the UK so wont be on the tax register, but I wont be on the NZ tax system either.

Any thoughts most welcome?
Old Jan 9th 2007, 8:14 am

dreamfish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Working in NZ paid in sterling? Need help!

Originally Posted by trigod View Post
Hello all,

I am currently negotiating with my current employer to continue working for them on a freelance basis when I move to NZ. I am a Graphic Designer so working remotely is very easy.

I was just going to have the money paid into my UK account and transfer the cash as and when we need it. Obviously this is great from the point of view of being paid in sterling but I am just wandering if anyone else can offer any experience on the tax side of things? Obviously I wont be working in the UK so wont be on the tax register, but I wont be on the NZ tax system either.

Any thoughts most welcome?