British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Work to Residence - Can someone please explain the advantages (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/work-residence-can-someone-please-explain-advantages-437844/)

claireh1981 Mar 27th 2007 11:11 am

Work to Residence - Can someone please explain the advantages

I am a teacher, so my profession is on the skills shortgae list. From what i understand I have to apply for a work to residence vis as opposed to a PR. How does this benefit me? As far as I can see applying through the work to residency route means that I have to stay in my job for 2 years, then apply for residency, then wait a further 5 for citizenship.

This seeems rather like I am losing out. Surely it means I would have to leave if anything went wrong with job?, that I owuld have to go through all the paperwork twice, that I will have to wait an extra 2 years for citizenship? It seems like I am being penilised for having a skill NZ want?

I may be totally wrong here, but save the advantage of getting into the country a bit quicker I can't see any benefit whatsoever.

Could someone please enlighten me? :confused:

Lenmil Mar 27th 2007 11:49 am

Re: Work to Residence - Can someone please explain the advantages

Originally Posted by claireh1981 (Post 4566804)
I am a teacher, so my profession is on the skills shortgae list. From what i understand I have to apply for a work to residence vis as opposed to a PR. How does this benefit me? As far as I can see applying through the work to residency route means that I have to stay in my job for 2 years, then apply for residency, then wait a further 5 for citizenship.