Reload this Page >

what's it REALLY like in NZ?

what's it REALLY like in NZ?

Old Jun 11th 2010, 4:08 pm
Just Joined

triathlonmum is an unknown quantity at this point
Default what's it REALLY like in NZ?

Hi everyone

We are at the very start of this journey. Just beginning to think we might like to start a new life in NZ. OH works in banking IT and as far as we can make out, his skills are in short supply out there. I'm a running coach, triathlete and freelance sports writer - which I know won't get me into NZ but I"m hoping I might be able to find work once there. I have an MSc and OH has a degree (although not in computing).

We have 2 children - both boys - aged 10 and 8. We currently live in East Sussex and OH spends 3 hours per day commuting to London... something he's desperate to change.

We are a very active family, we all do running, swimming, cycling, triathlon etc and love the outdoors, esp mountains etc. Not a big fan of big cities and noise..

We don't have rose tinted glasses, and want to know the good bad and ugly of living in NZ. There's nothing really much wrong with our life as it stands - there's no desperate need to escape - but we feel life in NZ would suit us. The slower pace of life and outdoor/sport opportunities really appeals. I love the idea of our kids growing up with more sport and active lifestyle than they have here.

Been doing lots of research and think Auckland could be for us - we'd need to be there for OH's work and kids school I think. Plus I'm not a fan of wind! so that rules Wellington out..

Reading all the posts on here is scary. Some of you love it, some hate it and can't wait to go home!

SO.... what I want to know is what is it REALLY like??? one friend says she loves it (she lives in Auckland) another says' the pace of life is too slow and she hated it.

Also, does anyone know how hard it is to find work in banks as a project manager/business analyst etc?

Just thinking about it all is mind boggling...