British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   What is a good amount of money to arrive with (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/what-good-amount-money-arrive-795182/)

tallguy78 Apr 25th 2013 10:07 pm

What is a good amount of money to arrive with

Hi all. I am looking into moving to NZ on a bunac visa and once there hope to secure a job as a graphic designer and apply for skilled migrant visa. I have 10 years experience and for the last 4 years have successfully run my own company. So I am giving a lot up for this move but want to do it for lifestyle reasons. If I do decide to do it I would arrive in the country with approx £6-7 k (11-12k in NZD). What I would like to know is a) for people who have made the move to NZ, what amount of money per person did they arrive with. Is my amount unrealistic to survive on? And B) harder to answer probably, but what are the chances of employment in this field. I have seen other posts and basically it seems many people have really struggled to gain jobs (in other industries) I would apply once in NZ, ideally in Welly but I would also look all over for employment. Basically I don't want to blow this money for nothing. But I guess it is one of life's gambles. And sometimes it pays out.:fingerscrossed:

escapedtonz Apr 26th 2013 1:41 am

Re: What is a good amount of money to arrive with

Originally Posted by tallguy78 (Post 10678838)