Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Well, we are going for it!

Well, we are going for it!

Old Dec 30th 2008, 12:21 pm
Just Joined

Mccafferty is just really niceMccafferty is just really niceMccafferty is just really niceMccafferty is just really niceMccafferty is just really niceMccafferty is just really niceMccafferty is just really niceMccafferty is just really nice
Default Well, we are going for it!

Hello all,

Have not posted for a long time due to work but I am back gaining advice.

Me and my partner have decided to make the move. She will finish Uni in July, which will then see me making the lone holiday move to NZ whilst looking for work. Once I have an offer, I will apply for a visa.

I work in IT and I have read (and spoken to NZ companies) that getting my british backside over there is the best way to land work. A few people I have spoken to who have done the same thing are now resident and working in IT.

I am not to bothered what city I move to; although I prefer Auckland and my partner prefers Christchurch, we just want a small rented house with a small garden and peace of an evening, is that to much to ask?

The last time I was on this forum, there was the beginning of a "I hate NZ" fiasco and I notice it has gotten worst! I do not want to hear them experiences in this thread if that is ok, but would like to hear from the folk who have done the move in a similiar way and if they have either succeeded or failed. It would be nice to know from the people who struggled/failed, what they would have changed with hindsight, and from you people who succeeded, any advice that you can offer.

I cannot wait, I have no kids and only my dog. I will be coming with clothes and money and nothing else, oh my guitar too. I am not after a massively paid job, just enough to live off and then build my career. (a guitar, a dog!!! I am not a tramp )