British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Webcam freezing with Skype (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/webcam-freezing-skype-575648/)

steved44 Nov 28th 2008 6:47 am

Webcam freezing with Skype

We use Skype with a webcam to keep in touch with the folks at home, but after a varying length of time, and with monotonous regularity, our webcam freezes up. We can still see and hear the other side, and they can hear us, but we appear frozen.

Now I know the broadband here is not yet exactly greased lightning, but even so this is bloody irritating.

Does anyone else out there recognise these symptoms and even better, do you have any suggestions?:confused:

Thanks in advance for any help.

iain_moore Nov 28th 2008 8:03 am

Re: Webcam freezing with Skype

Hi,

Sorry to hear about your problems. I am an IT engineer currently working for the NHS and hoping to emmigrate to NZ soon :)

Have you done a defrag on your pc? Also, clear out all your windows/temp folder and also your local settings/temp folder. Trying updating your device drivers or even rollback to earlier drivers.

Have you installed anything else recently?

Hope this helps.

Iain

Welly Wife Nov 28th 2008 8:04 am

Originally Posted by steved44 (Post 7017809)
We use Skype with a webcam to keep in touch with the folks at home, but after a varying length of time, and with monotonous regularity, our webcam freezes up. We can still see and hear the other side, and they can hear us, but we appear frozen.

Now I know the broadband here is not yet exactly greased lightning, but even so this is bloody irritating.

Does anyone else out there recognise these symptoms and even better, do you have any suggestions?:confused: