British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   WE ARE THINKING DUNEDIN? THOUGHTS ANYONE (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/we-thinking-dunedin-thoughts-anyone-785596/)

JEN5IM27 Jan 29th 2013 8:25 pm

WE ARE THINKING DUNEDIN? THOUGHTS ANYONE

Hi,

Me, my wife and 1 year old baby boy have started the long process to leave the UK and move to NZ. My wife is a nurse so its her skills that will be getting us over there. Im a Tree surgeon/Forester/Landscaper so i'm hoping there is plenty of opportunities for me too. Jenna (my wife) has taken her IELTS test and we are waiting on results which should be any day now. Then on to next stage of registering onto the New Zealand Nursing Council. While wanting on this we have started to look at places to go.
We first couldn't decide on North or South island. We first thought of Whangarai and then i read some info and posts on the net and kind of put us off. Said that crime was quite high..does anyone know whether this is true?
At the moment we have now gone completely the other end and are now thinking of Dunedin. Does anyone have any useful information on Dunedin?weather, people, jobs, Hospital.....any info would be fantastic and most appreciated.
Even better if you could suggest any great places to look into that would again be fantastic.

Thank you

Simon, Jenna and Toby

We look forward to hearing back.:):)

barnsleymat Jan 29th 2013 11:56 pm

Re: WE ARE THINKING DUNEDIN? THOUGHTS ANYONE

You'll bloody love it, it's a beautiful city.

It'll not be a problem getting a lovely house in a lovely area with fantastic schools, close to the beach and a 10 minutes drive into town, something that's out of most people's reach in Auckland. It's big enough of a place to not feel quiet and small enough to have lots of space to yourself.