British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   UK meetings? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/uk-meetings-657969/)

macmattom Mar 5th 2010 5:58 pm

UK meetings?

Does this site condone, support or even organise UK get-togethers? As a newbie, I wouldn't want to offend anybody but would be interested in meeting people with a similar desire who are probably way further down the process than we are but who would be able to pass on some hard earned experience, tips and information.

Just a thought. :eek:

Dewb09 Mar 5th 2010 7:57 pm

Re: UK meetings?

Absoulutely yes!
I know of a couple of people who have met up as geographically it was easy for them. Think its up to individuals if they want to get together but not a problem as far as this site is concerned.

Dewb

sirplug Mar 5th 2010 9:31 pm

If you'd have asked earlier, I would have met up with you. I'm only in Notts and work in Newark but I'm off on Sunday (14th) and am flat out doing all the last minute bits and pieces. If you have plenty of questions, worried moments, etc, feel free to PM me.

The biggest bit of advice I can give is, research everything online, cost of living, job opportunity, where to live, schooling (if appropriate). Basically, mirror your current life now, in New Zealand as far as research is concerned. Look at every last detail, cost of banking, broadband, phone, mobiles, insurance.....the list goes on. Just bear in mind that as far as cost of living is concerned, asking everybody else what they spend money on / survive on, may be a waste of time. Although it will give you a ball park idea, everybody lives differently and what you may deem cheap, others may deem expensive, etc.