British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Two year working visit with plan to stay. What to take? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/two-year-working-visit-plan-stay-what-take-774040/)

Engel Oct 9th 2012 12:08 am

Two year working visit with plan to stay. What to take?

I am a teacher planning on start work at the end of Jan 2013. I have had a lot of advice about what to take and what not but it has been conflicting and I would like to benefit from anyone who has made the move short term.

I am just emptying my house to be let and making choices about what to do with stuff. The movers say take everything even old furnature as it is more expensive to buy than ship. They also say take my car for the same reason.

I am planning on a two year work visa and have been assured that it will be no problem to stay longer, but there is a big difference knowing that it is only two years. Any ideas?

Catchafire Oct 9th 2012 12:25 am

Re: Two year working visit with plan to stay. What to take?

Do you actually have a two year work visa in your passport?

Taking your car sounds like madness to me. It easy and cheap to buy a good second hand car here.

BEVS Oct 9th 2012 3:32 am

Originally Posted by Engel (Post 10320643)
I am a teacher planning on start work at the end of Jan 2013. I have had a lot of advice about what to take and what not but it has been conflicting and I would like to benefit from anyone who has made the move short term.
I am just emptying my house to be let and making choices about what to do with stuff. The movers say take everything even old furnature as it is more expensive to buy than ship. They also say take my car for the same reason.
I am planning on a two year work visa and have been assured that it will be no problem to stay longer, but there is a big difference knowing that it is only two years. Any ideas?

Hi and welcome to our wee NZ forum.