Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

TV Tuning Problems

TV Tuning Problems

Old Apr 4th 2008, 11:52 pm
  #1  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
littleal's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 402
littleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of light
Default TV Tuning Problems

Can anyone help us out here? We bought a new TV in NZ and the OH tuned it in OK in our furnished rental. The container arrived this week and we moved 1/2 a mile away to an unfurnished rental. Since then, he cannot get any reception. He has tweaked the aerial inside and out. There are no hills or obvious geographical features causing the problem. Any ideas? Can't really afford Sky at the moment.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Alison
littleal is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 12:15 am
  #2  
By name and by nature
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,852
Batty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Originally Posted by littleal View Post
Can anyone help us out here? We bought a new TV in NZ and the OH tuned it in OK in our furnished rental. The container arrived this week and we moved 1/2 a mile away to an unfurnished rental. Since then, he cannot get any reception. He has tweaked the aerial inside and out. There are no hills or obvious geographical features causing the problem. Any ideas? Can't really afford Sky at the moment.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Alison

Hi Alison

Are you getting a reception but it's bad? Or nothing at all? The second would suggest something wrong with the TV rather than the reception. If it's a bad reception would you consider getting the Freeview box? it's a one-off charge - Dick Smith has them for $249 - and you've got digital.
Batty is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 12:39 am
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
littleal's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 402
littleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Originally Posted by Batty View Post
Hi Alison

Are you getting a reception but it's bad? Or nothing at all? The second would suggest something wrong with the TV rather than the reception. If it's a bad reception would you consider getting the Freeview box? it's a one-off charge - Dick Smith has them for $249 - and you've got digital.
Thanks Batty. The reception is very very bad, and we are getting the best results with unlisted channels like horse racing and Asian speaking programmes. We know the TV is OK because we watched it at the last house. Don't you need a satellite dish as well with a Freeview box? We got the impression they didn't help reception if you had lousy reception to start with.
littleal is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 1:47 am
  #4  
By name and by nature
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,852
Batty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond reputeBatty has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Originally Posted by littleal View Post
Thanks Batty. The reception is very very bad, and we are getting the best results with unlisted channels like horse racing and Asian speaking programmes. We know the TV is OK because we watched it at the last house. Don't you need a satellite dish as well with a Freeview box? We got the impression they didn't help reception if you had lousy reception to start with.
yeah sorry - I didn't realise you needed a dish here's the website that tells you all about it http://freeviewnz.tv/
Batty is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 2:03 am
  #5  
you dewty owld maan!
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: is practically perfect in every way
Posts: 5,564
lardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Originally Posted by littleal View Post
Can anyone help us out here? We bought a new TV in NZ and the OH tuned it in OK in our furnished rental. The container arrived this week and we moved 1/2 a mile away to an unfurnished rental. Since then, he cannot get any reception. He has tweaked the aerial inside and out. There are no hills or obvious geographical features causing the problem. Any ideas? Can't really afford Sky at the moment.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Alison
have you tried an aerial booster box or an attenuator (the opposite) as signal can be too strong!
should be able to get eitehr from Dick Smith (and they have a 14 day satisfaction guarantee that allows returns for "didn'y work / wrong type" )
lardyl is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 2:09 am
  #6  
BE Site Lead & Admin
 
BEVS's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Below
Posts: 32,809
BEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

We also get bad reception. Channel 1 is Ok but we have to use an indoor portable aerial for Channel 2 and 3. Channel 3 is always bad no matter what. Prine is normally OK. The best reception is the racing channel. & Maori .

I'll go look at the aerial booster thingies. Thanks LardyL.

Where would I plug such a thing in though. We only have one TV aerial socket in the house.
BEVS is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 3:53 am
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
littleal's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 402
littleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of lightlittleal is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Thanks for the suggestions. I think I'm going to visit the rental agency before I pay out too much money. Have now located enough from all the boxes to watch VCR/DVD until Monday.

Cheers
Alison
littleal is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 5:25 am
  #8  
you dewty owld maan!
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: is practically perfect in every way
Posts: 5,564
lardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Originally Posted by BEVS here View Post
We also get bad reception. Channel 1 is Ok but we have to use an indoor portable aerial for Channel 2 and 3. Channel 3 is always bad no matter what. Prine is normally OK. The best reception is the racing channel. & Maori .

I'll go look at the aerial booster thingies. Thanks LardyL.

Where would I plug such a thing in though. We only have one TV aerial socket in the house.
As close to the aerial itself as is possible - masthead amps are the best, they fit next to the aerial itself but are usually not a DIY job. Better to plug the small box into the socket via a short co-ax (aerial) lead and the attach to TV/recorder, etc. May not solve your prob but if you are careful with packaging and it don't work DSE will take it back (AFIK)....Ian
lardyl is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 7:14 am
  #9  
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,225
Nerine is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Originally Posted by littleal View Post
Can anyone help us out here? We bought a new TV in NZ and the OH tuned it in OK in our furnished rental. The container arrived this week and we moved 1/2 a mile away to an unfurnished rental. Since then, he cannot get any reception. He has tweaked the aerial inside and out. There are no hills or obvious geographical features causing the problem. Any ideas? Can't really afford Sky at the moment.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Alison
You may've already tried it but have you tried re-tuning it again? you could be on a new transmitter and the channels are on on different frequencies.
Nerine is offline  
Old Apr 5th 2008, 7:51 am
  #10  
you dewty owld maan!
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: is practically perfect in every way
Posts: 5,564
lardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond reputelardyl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Originally Posted by Nerine View Post
You may've already tried it but have you tried re-tuning it again? you could be on a new transmitter and the channels are on on different frequencies.
indeed.........
/note to self K.I.S.S. ........./
lardyl is offline  
Old Apr 6th 2008, 2:14 am
  #11  
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,813
happynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nice
Default Re: TV Tuning Problems

Yeah, there may be something to the tuning business. Here in my Christchurch suburb, well maybe just my flat, TV1 is on 0, TV3 is on 1, TV2 is on erm...2, and C4 is on 3. Prime is on 14. The dog and pony races share time on 11 with the God channel (nice ). Dunno why, but what the hey...
happynz is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.