TV

Old Jun 14th 2013, 6:36 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 95
qssue is just really niceqssue is just really niceqssue is just really niceqssue is just really niceqssue is just really niceqssue is just really niceqssue is just really niceqssue is just really nice
Default TV

Hi
We have been told by some that we will not be able to us our TV in NZ when we move. Others have said that we can use it but need to get it modified because the sound will not work and some have even said dont bother taking it. We have a modern TV purchased in 2012. Does anyone have the answer ?
Thanks
qssue is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2013, 6:41 pm
  #2  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 196
DandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond reputeDandJMay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV

We bought our tv over in 2011, after buying it 2009, works a treat, no problems. We have made the big switch (again) to free-view, all very painless for us. Personally i would bring it over.
DandJMay is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2013, 8:13 pm
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Auckland
Posts: 459
Clappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond reputeClappy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV

Whether it will 'work' or not depends on how you intend to receive the TV signal into your house.

If the TV set will be plugged into a NZ TV Aerial then I think the UK TV set will have issues decoding the signal.

If the TV set will be plugged into a Sky box or a freeview box then there shouldn't be any troubles with that.

You might as well bring it anyway I would have thought. It could always be plugged into a DVD player to use in your games room, your rumpus room or your second lounge, if nothing else.
Clappy is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2013, 8:33 pm
  #4  
jmh
BE Forum Addict
 
jmh's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: South Auckland
Posts: 2,228
jmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV

Terrestrial TV is being turned off around the country so you will need Freeview or Sky. Inbuilt UK Freeview won't work here, but you can get a box for that (or Sky) to plug into the set (as already said above).
jmh is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2013, 10:09 pm
  #5  
MODERATOR
 
MrsFychan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Wellington - I miss Castles, the NHS & English school system
Posts: 9,064
MrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV

change the plug, get Sky off you go.
MrsFychan is offline  
Old Jun 16th 2013, 10:08 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 389
kiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of lightkiwibok is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: TV

Originally Posted by jmh View Post
Terrestrial TV is being turned off around the country so you will need Freeview or Sky. Inbuilt UK Freeview won't work here, but you can get a box for that (or Sky) to plug into the set (as already said above).
First of all what type of TV is it?

If the TV is not going to be freeview compliant then why would you bring it? You would then have to spend a further $100-$200 on a new separate freeview box?

If you buy a new TV here it will include the built in freeview digital. You just hook it up to a UHF aerial, and you have high definition digital TV.

So unless you have a really flash TV, and you sure you going to be using SKY TV (about $80per month), I would not bother.

We dont bother with Sky anymore as we found we were watching most of the stuff on Freeview anyway. Its a bit of a pain now and again not to have sport, but it was still not worth the $80 per month.
kiwibok is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2013, 3:44 am
  #7  
jmh
BE Forum Addict
 
jmh's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: South Auckland
Posts: 2,228
jmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV

Originally Posted by kiwibok View Post
First of all what type of TV is it?

If the TV is not going to be freeview compliant then why would you bring it? You would then have to spend a further $100-$200 on a new separate freeview box?

If you buy a new TV here it will include the built in freeview digital. You just hook it up to a UHF aerial, and you have high definition digital TV.

So unless you have a really flash TV, and you sure you going to be using SKY TV (about $80per month), I would not bother.

We dont bother with Sky anymore as we found we were watching most of the stuff on Freeview anyway. Its a bit of a pain now and again not to have sport, but it was still not worth the $80 per month.

I agree with you - I didn't bring my TV over - couldn't see the point as it was nothing flash. You can get good deals here if you check out the sales.
jmh is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2013, 6:39 am
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Back in NZ & loving it - living in Orewa
Posts: 1,183
lapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond reputelapsed kiwi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV

Originally Posted by kiwibok View Post
First of all what type of TV is it?

If the TV is not going to be freeview compliant then why would you bring it? You would then have to spend a further $100-$200 on a new separate freeview box?

If you buy a new TV here it will include the built in freeview digital. You just hook it up to a UHF aerial, and you have high definition digital TV.

So unless you have a really flash TV, and you sure you going to be using SKY TV (about $80per month), I would not bother.

We dont bother with Sky anymore as we found we were watching most of the stuff on Freeview anyway. Its a bit of a pain now and again not to have sport, but it was still not worth the $80 per month.
On the other hand, our NZ-bought TV has freeview built in that I never ever use. We have sky because I can't stand adverts and like to watch what I want to awatch, when I want to watch it. I can't imagine watching live TV the whole time. So, my TV's 4 HDMI sockets get all the action and the antenna connection gets none - so a UK TV would be just as good
lapsed kiwi is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.