Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Trying to change teaching jobs

Trying to change teaching jobs

Old Dec 10th 2013, 3:49 am
BE Enthusiast

M_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond repute
Exclamation Trying to change teaching jobs

I am a teacher of 17 years. In the UK I never had trouble getting interviews, in fact I always got at least an interview for every job I applied for.

Here in NZ the job has not turned out to be as was 'sold' to me so I am trying to find another.

I have applied for over 30 and not had a single interview. I have tried a range of jobs equal to, lower and higher than my current one. I have even tried jobs that are education based but not in schools. I can't seem to get a single interview.

I have kiwi-fied my CV, I have had someone look at it. My employer knows how I feel and is 'supporting my decision to leave'. I have residency so my decision wont affect my visa.

How do I crack the job market?

Do teaching jobs only come up in Nov/ Dec? I don't remember seeing them much before now but is that normal? Am I stuck in my current post for another year?

Any advice appreciated before I completely crack up.

Last edited by M_and_M; Dec 10th 2013 at 4:06 am.
Old Dec 10th 2013, 4:28 am
Forum Regular