Reload this Page >

Teaching in New Zealand

Teaching in New Zealand

Old Feb 12th 2017, 10:00 pm
Just Joined

whippetrun is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Teaching in New Zealand

Hi!

First post on here so apologies if other people have posted the same/similar posts already.

I am a primary school teacher in the UK and looking to work and live (long-term) in NZ. I've been doing as much research as I can and have savings behind me.
I'm in my fourth year of teaching-including my PGCE training year- following a BA. Any help on an approximate salary would be helpful and whether that salary would be sufficient to live on as a single earner with no dependants would be excellent!

I would prefer to put a deposit down for a property rather than rent but not at all sure if a salary would enable me to do this based on monthly/fort nightly pay.

Thanks in advance!
Old Feb 13th 2017, 12:37 am
BE Enthusiast

garethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond reputegarethwm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Teaching in New Zealand

Yes, a teachers salary is enough to live off. Whether you can afford a deposit on a house depends on your savings, how much you are prepared to take a mortgage on, and the area you are moving to. A house in Auckland will cost you around the million mark, depending on the area and closeness to CBD. In Invercargill, a similar house would cost around $250k. Good luck with your plans. Exciting times.
Old Feb 13th 2017, 12:47 am
`

BEVS has disabled reputation