British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Stuck in a rut in Burnley! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/stuck-rut-burnley-720329/)

Cathstar Jun 9th 2011 9:38 pm

Stuck in a rut in Burnley!

Hello all,

This is my first post and it comes at the end of a long day of teaching so apologies for any incoherence! I am 24 and me and my boyfriend (24 also, together for 7 and a half years) are fed up to the high heavens with our lives. I am a teacher in a secondary school, about to come to the end of a fixed term contract (maternity cover). I have been saving whilst living at home with parents. My boyfriend has been living with his parents and is currently unemployed (and searching). Unfortunately the job market in the North West (and undoubtedly elsewhere in the UK) is as ominous as ever and he's struggling to even get call centre work for more than a week due to poor business management (on the employer's part)....he has a foundation degree in business studies so it's not like he's got nothing going for him, and a good deal of experience working on the phones, handling customer service roles etc.

Anyway. After failing to get a job in France for the coming year, I thought to myself, 'I've always wanted to see New Zealand. Hey, why not move there....' Rash, I know. I'm wondering if any of you can divulge some pearls of wisdom as to whether we should just head on out there on a working holiday visa, funnel away my limited savings on travel and tourism, or use my money as an initial investment in relocating abroad. We want to marry one day and have children but neither of us feel happy in the UK and we feel like we're balancing on a fine point with a need to choose a direction (lest we fall onto the point and die miserably!).

I realise I'm going on at some length here and should probably await some advice/comments before giving more information.