Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

some advice for a newbie

some advice for a newbie

Old Oct 30th 2013, 7:59 pm
Forum Regular

scottishlad is an unknown quantity at this point
Default some advice for a newbie

hi everyone, first time poster here and hopefully will be using the site for a while to come.

I am a 24 year old carpenter/joiner from scotland who is considering moving to Christchurch in the new year. I may have a job lined up which pays $24 ph to start with but could rise, is this enough for a single person to live off?

The woman who i spoke to via Skype told me i would need roughly £2000 to get me there which would include flight, deposit for digs, tool transportation etc.... is this enough? I would be starting work pretty much straight away but still seems low.

I would be travelling on a working holiday visa to start with then see how things go.

Thanks in advance....Mick
Old Oct 30th 2013, 8:45 pm

Catchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond reputeCatchafire has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: some advice for a newbie

Originally Posted by scottishlad
hi everyone, first time poster here and hopefully will be using the site for a while to come.

I am a 24 year old carpenter/joiner from scotland who is considering moving to Christchurch in the new year. I may have a job lined up which pays $24 ph to start with but could rise, is this enough for a single person to live off?