Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Seeking advice on my move to Canterbury

Seeking advice on my move to Canterbury

Old May 4th 2013, 9:14 pm
Just Joined

ForestNew is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Seeking advice on my move to Canterbury

Having an offer of employment in Canterbury as a carpenter, I have a few questions I’m wishing anyone can offer advice on. Can anyone help me with these?

1. Kiwi savings plan! Do I opt-out or join? Not sure of the benefits to me?

2. The company provides a free care cover with Southern Cross but it seems limited, not providing GP Consultations, prescriptions, dental and optical cover. Do I need more as I understand there is a free public heath scheme if I was to get a two year work visa?

3. Transport has two options with the company a)$4.500 for a vehicle to and from work or b)$9000 for all use which includes weekends. I thought this was an expensive option, if the company allowed me to purchase my own vehicle?

Private vehicle can anyone advise me about the insurance and had they been given any discount if they bought proof of their No Claims discount from the UK. Understanding NZ is another country to be driving in?

4. Not asked this question but costs of moving myself to New Zealand i.e. flights and temporary accommodation? Has any single guy been given any help with these from a company who they have been given an offer of work from?

Thanks for reading and the help which you may be able to offer me with my questions and any other comments which you believe would be good of myself in helping my move to NZ.

Regards
Nick
Old May 4th 2013, 9:53 pm