Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

secondary teaching in NZ

secondary teaching in NZ

Old Oct 28th 2007, 2:52 pm
Forum Regular

EmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really niceEmandKen is just really nice
Smile secondary teaching in NZ

Can anyone tell me what it's like teaching in NZ secondary schools? I'm an English teacher and am hoping to teach in Christchurch or that area. Have been teaching in Scotland for last 5 years and wonder what the curriculum, conditions, schools are like in NZ? Is it hard to get a job once there? I know they're going to vary a lot (like here) but any info would be appreciated.
Thanks a lot
Emma
Old Oct 29th 2007, 1:21 am
Forum Regular

Lplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really niceLplate kiwis x4 is just really nice
Default Re: secondary teaching in NZ

Hi
My husband is an secondary English teacher and we are living in Wellington. I would strongly recommend looking for a job before you come as he found it hard to get a teaching post when we got here. He did supply teaching for a while through Edpersonnel who mainly got him work with intermediate (and some primary). The secondary schools usually operate their own casual/supply network so if you want that then apply straight to individual schools.