British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Scared newbie looking for help & advice (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/scared-newbie-looking-help-advice-644539/)

pacifica3000 Dec 12th 2009 8:16 pm

Scared newbie looking for help & advice

:)Introduction
Me and my wife visited NZ in 2005 and fell in love with the country. We have always wanted to go back, and today we saw a migration consultant and have decided to make the move. We also have a 2 year old and a 4 year old who we don't want going to school in England. However, I have just been reading this thread http://britishexpats.com/forum/showt...or+new+zealand and it's scared me. I really, really want to move my family to NZ, but im not so sure it's the right move any more, any advice would be gratefully received.

My scenario
I'm a polytechnic lecturer and my wife works in administration. I have a post graduate diploma in Education (soon to be a full Masters) and my wife has an NVQ3 in business admin. We have been told that together we should have about 125 points without a job offer for me. I have no intention of moving down to NZ without a job offer, but my main fear is that even with a good job I will not be able to provide a comfortable living for my family. We have a lot of creature comforts here, but we are not really material people. Personally I'm quite happy with a load of books and my telescope to keep me company. My wife isn't a crazy shopper, and my kids are too young to have been programmed by the UK consumer market. That said, I don't want to live like a pauper.

Finances