Reload this Page >

Relief teacher opportunities in Christchurch area

Relief teacher opportunities in Christchurch area

Old Oct 29th 2017, 9:52 pm
Just Joined

Trackerthecat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Relief teacher opportunities in Christchurch area

Hi everyone,

I'm an avid reader of the forums but this is my first post! I've wanted to move to NZ for some time with my family (wife and two young children) and after attending an expo we're starting to look at things a bit more seriously now.

I got some useful information at the expo, mainly that you need a job, or job offer, before you put in a visa application. My wife is a nurse so we're fairly sure once her registration is through we could go through the skilled migrant visa route. However, as I'm a primary school teacher, I'd want to go over and do some relief teaching before looking for something more permanent. We're looking at moving around the Christchurch area and this brought up a problem.

When I mentioned this at the expo, many people said there is currently no demand for relief teachers in and around the Christchurch area and that I'm better moving to Auckland or Wellington for better job prospects (incidentally, the people telling me this were all based in Auckland or Wellington!).

I'd just like to get an idea of what it is like for anyone who has moved to the Christchurch area looking for work as a teacher. Did you find work (relief or permanent)? Are there agencies you can sign up with or do you contact schools directly?

My understanding is that there is a looming teacher crisis in NZ so at the very least I'd be wanted within the next few years.

Thanks in advance,
Tracker
Old Oct 31st 2017, 11:02 am
BE Forum Addict