Reload this Page >

Public Transportation availability - pretty much anywhere in NZ

Public Transportation availability - pretty much anywhere in NZ

Old Sep 7th 2006, 5:10 pm
Just Joined

CanuckGrrl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Public Transportation availability - pretty much anywhere in NZ

Hi there,

Slightly different story in that I'm not planning on emigrating to New Zealand but would love to do a work experience practicum out there for a month next year as I am currently a speech pathology student (therapist to most of you).

The one thing that bothers me (other than actually trying to get it organised!) is that I don't have a driver's license. I'm used to living in the city where public transport is cheap and easy to come by. Would it be possible to get by in New Zealand for a month without your own transport? Is there any particular city that is particularly well known for being accessible, or any to avoid? It's basically my number one priority other than being concerned about rent but I'd probably be sharing with other students or maybe a guest family. Any advice, comments or suggestions about public transport much appreciated, as I fully admit I don't know what to expect and know how hard it can be outside the very major cities here in Canada...

If any of you know any Kiwi (preferrably paediatric) SLTs, by the way, it would be great to know; any contact is a good start for networking and there's always the chance they could come over and see how it works in the Great White North!

Thanks in advance and hoping you can help!

CanuckGrrl.
Old Sep 7th 2006, 7:59 pm
Account Closed