British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Primary Teaching opportunities in NZ (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/primary-teaching-opportunities-nz-926436/)

Moongirl80 Jul 15th 2019 11:26 am

Primary Teaching opportunities in NZ

Hello
I'm new to this forum.
We are in the UK hoping to move to NZ. We currently have our house on the market and I am in the process of getting teacher registration in preparation for searching for a job in a primary school. I have a lot of UK experience and I am open to any areas (although ideally not Auckland because of living costs and less visa points).
I have read a lot re there being a teacher shortage in NZ, on govt websites, in newspaper articles etc.
However I recently spoke with someone on a different forum who seemed to think it would be really difficult to get a teaching job at all, never mind from the UK.
Has anyone got recent experience of this?

carcajou Jul 15th 2019 2:24 pm

Re: Primary Teaching opportunities in NZ

Do you have your visa yet? This is a very long and complicated process, and if you don't have a visa, teacher registration doesn't matter. Teacher registration also doesn't imply that you will pass the NZQA assessment for migration, which is not a formality.

Short answer: It will be very, very difficult for you to get a position in a decent school on no NZ experience and with no local network, next to impossible if trying to find something while overseas, and totally impossible if you don't already have a visa.