British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Please help... (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/please-help-692105/)

laticsbird Nov 3rd 2010 6:46 pm

Please help...

I'm currently in the long process of applying for PR but would just like to know a couple of things. At the moment, I am extremely run-down (amongst other things) and I have suspected for a while now that I may be suffering from depression. I have two questions: 1. If I went to the doctors and I had it diagnosed as depression would this be a reason to deny me PR? and 2. If the answer to this is no, as I'm a teacher, will any school I apply to in NZ run a mile if I apply?

Thankyou for any help and advice you can give.
L
xx

Genesis Nov 3rd 2010 10:17 pm

Re: Please help...

Originally Posted by laticsbird (Post 8959864)
I'm currently in the long process of applying for PR but would just like to know a couple of things. At the moment, I am extremely run-down (amongst other things) and I have suspected for a while now that I may be suffering from depression. I have two questions: 1. If I went to the doctors and I had it diagnosed as depression would this be a reason to deny me PR? and 2. If the answer to this is no, as I'm a teacher, will any school I apply to in NZ run a mile if I apply?

Thankyou for any help and advice you can give.
L
xx

Who knows? But it isn't a good look unfortunately. It is unlikely to bar you from the NZIS point of view and may well be illegal for a prospective employer to take it against you but what's to say they will not flount said law. Rather than go to the doctors right now why not try St Johns wort..it works for me. I got asked about the D word in a life ins proposal. Unless you are utterly despearte don't get it on your record. Try to have some down time and R an R and get some yoga et al under your belt. Best of luck.

Woodpigeon Nov 4th 2010 1:38 am