Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

NZ tax on UK rental income

NZ tax on UK rental income

Old Jan 8th 2013, 12:33 am
Forum Regular

mudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud ofmudblood21 has much to be proud of
Question NZ tax on UK rental income

Hi

I have been renting out my UK property since I left in April 2010. I have my friends' children in the house who are fabulous tenants. The rent is lower but the peace of mind is phenomenal.

In April 2014 I will be start being taxed in NZ for that income.

The NZ tax office gives a pretty clear list = but does this apply to NZ properties only, or the overseas ones as well?

thanks

Last edited by mudblood21; Jan 8th 2013 at 12:40 am.
Old Jan 8th 2013, 4:47 am

Location: Wellington - I miss Castles, the NHS & English school system
MrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: NZ tax on UK rental income

my understanding, and someone will come along and correct/agree is that any profit you make will taxed. So if you are still mortgaged you take what you earn from the property minus the mortgage payments and the rest is taxed. There may be other loop holes but you would need to speak to accountant/solicitor to find them out
Old Jan 8th 2013, 6:17 am
Forum Regular